Sunderland make three changes for Championship clash with West Bromwich Albion at The Hawthorns

Dennis Cirkin returns to the Sunderland starting line-up for today’s Sky Bet Championship fixture against West Bromwich Albion following the completion of his one-match suspension. 

Pierre Ekwah and Abdoullah Ba also start replacing Patrick Roberts and Alex Pritchard as Tony Mowbray makes three changes to his team following Tuesday’s draw with Huddersfield Town.  

Lynden Gooch will captain the Black Cats due to defender Danny Batth being ruled out for the remaining three games of the season.

There is a place among the substitutes for Edouard Michut after recovering from a back injury. Meanwhile, Dan Ballard is still sidelined following a hamstring strain picked up on international duty.

Ross Stewart, Corry Evans, Elliot Embleton, Aji Alese and Jewison Bennette all remain long-term absentees.  

Alex Pritchard faces his former club; the midfielder spent a spell on loan with the Baggies in 2016. 

West Bromwich Albion XI: Palmer, Furlong, Ajayi, Pieters, Townsend ©, Molumby, Yokuslu, Wallace, Swift, Grant, Thomas-Asante.

Substitutes: Griffiths, Livermore, Bartley, Rogic, Gardner-Hickman, Faal, Albrighton.

Sunderland XI: Patterson, Gooch ©, Hume, O’Nien, Cirkin, Neil, Ekwah, Amad, Ba, Clarke, Gelhardt. 

Substitutes: Bass, Roberts, Pritchard, Anderson, Taylor, Lihadji, Michut.