Formula One Eifel Grand Prix: Lewis Hamilton wins to equal Michael Schumacher’s all-time win record

File photo dated 20-02-2020 of Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton.

Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes, secured victory at the Nurburgring to push out a 69-point lead in the drivers championship and matched Michael Schumacher’s all-time record of 91 race wins.

Daniel Ricciardo, Renault, managed to keep Sergio Perez, Racing Point, at bay to secure his first podium since Monaco 2018 and gave Renault their first since Malaysia 2011.

Nico Hulkenberg came in to replace Lance Stroll at Racing Point after he was allegedly unwell yesterday that resulted in the German being brought in to compete in the race. 

Both Mercedes managed to get away well as the lights went out, but it was too late for – the pole-sitter – Valterri Bottas to cover his teammate into the first corner. 

However, as the drivers suffered with the lack of front grip, both Silver Arrows went wide into the second corner but Bottas managed to take the lead away from his teammate.

Romain Grosjean, Haas, complained of a sore finger on the fifth lap as Kimi Raikkonen, Alfa Romeo, kicked up some gravel which connected with the Frenchman’s exposed index finger. 

After rain was expected, Alexander Albon, Red Bull, made a very early pit stop on the eighth lap as he swapped his soft compound tyres for the medium compound. 

A lap later, Daniel Ricciardo, Renault, used DRS down the main straight in a battle against Charles Leclerc as he looked to overtake the Monegasque at turn one. 

However, the young Ferrari driver defended the inside line which forced the Australian to run a wider line. But, as Ricciardo switched back, he went wheel-to-wheel with Leclerc and pipped the prancing horse to the third corner. 

Despite his lead, Bottas locked up at turn one on lap 13 which handed Hamilton the opportunity to overtake his teammate and lead the race. 

George Russell, Williams, suffered a race-ending incident, on lap 14, when he was briefly airborne after Raikkonen after a snap of oversteer on the Alfa steered the Finn towards Russell at the first corner. 

The Williams driver was forced to retire later on in the lap as he suffered a rear-left puncture. 

Raikkonen also gained a 10-second time penalty for the incident. 

This deployed the Virtual Safety Car, two laps later, as the marshals attempted to clear the Williams car from the track. This allowed Hamilton to get a cheap pit-stop to put the medium tyres onto his W11.

Daniil Kvyat, Alpha Tauri, suffered a lock up on the penultimate corner, on lap 17, while Albon was behind him. The london-born, Thai managed to get past the Russian but moved outwards too soon as his rear-tyres ripped the Alpha Tauri’s front wing off. 

Because of the contact, Albon gained a five-second penalty for the contact but he was retired from the race on lap 24. 

On lap 45, Lando Norris, McLaren, retired as he suffered with power-unit issues which prompted his car’s anti-stall to kick in. This caused the full safety car to deploy. 

After complaints from Hamilton and Max Verstappen, Red Bull, regarding an alleged slow safety car. Hamilton managed to clear the pack once racing got back underway. 

However, as the race drew closer to its conclusion, Verstappen attempted to eat into the distance between himself and Hamilton but failed to do so. But the Dutch driver managed to steal the DHL fastest lap away from the Mercedes driver as he crossed the finish line. 

Despite Sergio Perez’s best efforts, Ricciardo managed to stay ahead of the Mexican as he took home the final podium position. 


  1. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
  2. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  3. Daniel Ricciardo (Renault)

Kamron Kent