Formula E round Preview – Will Porsche be stopped in Hyderabad?

Formula E has its Indian debut this weekend among a backdrop of domination by Porsche powered teams.

2M9TGB3 Indian Racing League drivers participate in a maiden session at India’s first street circuit on the bank of Hussain Sagar Lake in Hyderabad, India, Saturday, Nov. 19, 2022. Formula E World Championship race will be held in India on Feb. 11, 2023. (AP Photo/Mahesh Kumar A.)

The track

Credit: Formula E

The track seems to be fast and flowing without many deep breaking zones. This means most overtakes no doubt will be made on the long straights. So this track will work more for those who have a powertrain that can be efficient enough through the turns to allow drivers to push on the straights such as Porsche.

The times

This weekend being in India means the race timings are early but just about ok enough for people to wake up without needing strong coffee.

However, if you are a hardcore it will be 2am if you want to see free practice two.

The full timings are below.


10:55 – 11:45- Free Practice 1


02:35 – 03:25- Free Practice 2

05:10 – 06:25- Qualifying

09:33 – 11:00 -Race

What is the state of play in both championships?

The drivers

PosDriverPointsMexicoSaudi ArabiaSaudi ArabiaIndiaSouth AfricaBrazilGermanyBERMonacoIndonesiaIndonesiaPORItalyItalyUnited KingdomUnited KingdomVAL
1 Pascal Wehrlein6818/225/125/1
2 Jake Dennis6226/118/218/2
3 Sébastien Buemi318/615/48/6
4 Sam Bird2815/313/4
5 Jake Hughes2710/54/813/5
6 René Rast2611/515/3
7 Lucas di Grassi1818/3
8 Andre Lotterer1412/42/9
9 Mitch Evans114/81/106/7
10 Nick Cassidy102/98/6
11 Jean-Eric Vergne66/7
12 Antonio Felix da Costa66/7
13 Sacha Fenestraz44/8
14 Edoardo Mortara22/9
15 Stoffel Vandoorne11/10
16 Dan Ticktum11/10
17 Maximilian Gunther
18 Norman Nato
19 Oliver Rowland
20 Nico Müller
21 Sergio Sette Camara
22 Kelvin van der Linde

The teams:

PosTeamsPointsMexicoSaudi ArabiaSaudi ArabiaIndiaSouth AfricaBrazilGermanyBERMonacoIndonesiaIndonesiaPORItalyItalyUnited KingdomUnited KingdomVAL
1 Andretti Autosport76382018
2 Porsche Team74242525
3 McLaren53101528
4 Envision Racing4110238
5 Jaguar Racing3941619
6 Mahindra Racing1818
7 DS Penske716
8 Nissan 44
9 Maserati Racing22
10 NIO Formula E Team11
11 Team Abt