The Top Five Premier League Title Races

The Premier League is one of the best leagues in the world and has had some dramatic title races down the years. The 2023/24 title race is shaping up to be one of the best greatest with Man City, Arsenal and Liverpool all going head-to-head to win the ultimate place. Today we will go through the top five title races of all time.

5.) 2015/2016 – Leicester, Tottenham, Arsenal

2MYMBPA Leicester City manager Claudio Ranieri takes a selfie as the Leicester City players and staff celebrate with the trophy after winning the English Premier League during an open top bus parade through the central business district of Bangkok, Thailand, Thursday, May 19, 2016. The Leicester City team is on a two-day visit to Bangkok to celebrate their premiership win. (AP Photo/Mark Baker)

Everyone remembers when Leicester miraculously won the title despite being tipped at 5000/1 at the start of the season. Leicester first first-ever Premier League title was sealed after Tottenham drew 2-2 with Chelsea in the ‘Battle of the Bridge’.

Leicester secured some memorable wins along the way to Premier League glory such as away wins at Tottenham and Man City. Alongside this Jamie Vardy found red-hot form scoring in 11 consecutive Premier League games to lead the Foxes to glory.

Spurs couldn’t even finish second after a final day collapse as they lost 5-1 to already relegated Newcastle this allowed their rivals Arsenal to finish second.

4.) 2013/2014 – Man City, Liverpool, Chelsea

G71P8H The Barclays Premier League Trophy (left) and Capital One Cup Trophy (right) on display ahead of the Barclays Premier League Victory Parade in Manchester.

When everyone thinks of the 2013/14 title race. They all remember one famous line when Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard said: “We don’t let this slip”. Unfortunately, Gerrard did let it slip a few days later as he slipped to gift Demba Ba a goal for Chelsea and give The Blues a priceless victory in the title race.

Then a few days later Liverpool blew a three-goal lead away at Crystal Palace in 11 minutes which all but ended their title hopes.

Man City beat Aston Villa 4-0 to go into the driving seat ahead of the season finale and on the final day, Man City beat West Ham 2-0 to win the title under Manuel Pellegrini.

3.) 2021/2022 – Man City, Liverpool

2JCWNCR File photo dated 22-05-2022 of Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola with the Premier League trophy. Premier League champions Manchester City will begin the defence of their title at West Ham in the final match of the opening weekend?s fixtures. Issue date: Thursday June 16, 2022.

Pep Guardiola and Jurgen Klopp took the title battle down to the final day. Liverpool were hunting for a quadruple and Man City were looking to win another league title.

On the final day, Man City went 2-0 down at home to Aston Villa but three late goals in the second half secured Man City the 3-2 win.

At one point a win for Liverpool would have got them the title however a 3-1 win against Wolves proved to be pointless.

2.) 1998/99 Man United, Arsenal

MANCHESTER, ENGLAND – MAY 16: The Manchester United team celebrate on the pitch having won the title after the FA Carling Premiership match between Manchester United v Tottenham Hotspur at Old Trafford on May 16, 1999 in Manchester, England. Manchester United 2 Tottenham Hotspur 1. (Photo by John Peters/Manchester United via Getty Images)

The 1998/99 season will be known for Man United completing the treble, but it was not simple for the Red Devils. They had a tough start to the season but after the defeat to Middlesbrough on December 19 they didn’t lose another league game that season.

Going into the final day Man United had a one-point lead over Arsenal. 30 minutes in and the Red Devils were trailing 1-0 against Tottenham thanks to a Les Ferdinand goal.

But goals either side of half time by David Beckham and Andy Cole secured the title for Ferguson’s men despite Arsenal beating Aston Villa 1-0.

1.) 2011/12 Man United, Man City

G555PJ Soccer – Barclays Premier League – Manchester City v Queens Park Rangers – Etihad Stadium

The battle of the Manchester clubs has to be the greatest Premier League title race of all time. Man City had a brilliant start to the season beating rivals Man United 6-1 at Old Trafford and winning 14 of their first 17 league games.

They soon slipped up giving Man United the control but Man City soon took it back thanks to a Vincent Kompany header securing them another win against the Red Devils.

Going into the final day of the season it was in the citizen’s hands to clinch their first-ever Premier League title.

They didn’t go about it the easy way as they went 2-0 down to QPR at home it looked like the title was heading to Old Trafford however they pulled it back to 2-2. In the third minute of stoppage time, Mario Balotelli played a ball to Sergio Aguero who smashed the ball into the back of the net and sent the Man City fans crazy the Etihad erupted as Man City claimed their first of many league titles in the most dramatic way possible.