Last 10 players to win the NEFWA and where are they now

With all three North-East sides struggling over the last 12 months it may be difficult to pick a 2019 winner for the North East football writers’ award.

It is a very prestigious award in the North-East that has seen many famous players claim the accolade such as Alan Shearer, Gareth Southgate and Niall Quinn.

The ceremony is not until early 2020 so players have time to stake a claim but there is not many stand out candidates at the minute.

Here we take a look at the previous 10 winners and where are they now?

Danny Collins – 2009

The Welsh centre back won the award during his final season for Sunderland after making 149 appearances.

He is currently without a club after being released by Grimsby Town this summer after making 106 appearances over four years.

Since leaving Wearside Collin has turned out for six different sides including West Ham United and Stoke City.

Darren Bent – 2010

From hero to villain in less than a decade for Bent as his goals saw Sunderland secure solid Premier League finishes.

He has since played for six different sides including Burton Albion where he scored against Sunderland to help confirm their relegation to League One in 2018.

Fabricio Coloccini – 2011

After spending eight years on Tyneside Coloccinin finally got his move back to his native Argentina.

Coloccini has been with San Lorenzo since 2016, has made 38 appearances and is still playing despite being 38-years old.

Simon Mignolet – 2012

Mighnolet peaked at Sunderland as his Liverpool career was up and down, being replaced as number one ‘keeper twice.

Since leaving Wearside the Belgian spent seven years on Merseyside before moving to Club Brugge this summer to play in his native Belgium to regain his confidence.

Yohan Cabaye – 2013

The Frenchman was a sensation on Tyneside which saw him earn a move back to France and play for PSG.

Cabaye as been all over since leaving Newcastle plying his trade for PSG, Crystal Palace, Al-Nasr and currently Saint-Etienne where he plays alongside former Newcastle teammate Mathieu Debuchy.

The midfielder almost turned villain on his return to St James’ Park when he should have seen red for a challenge on DeAndre Yedlin before missing a crucial penalty late in the match.

Lee Cattermole – 2014

Mr Sunderland played on Wearside for 10 years but only won the NEFWA once.

Cattermole made the switch to the Netherlands this summer with VVV-Venlo where he has been treated as a superstar because of his reputation in the Premier League.

Daryl Janmaat – 2015

Janmaat left when Newcastle were relegated in 2016 under Rafa Benitez.

He made the switch to Watford and has been a rotational player during his four-year stint at Vicarage road making just 74 appearances.

Jermaine Defoe – 2016

After smashing in 15 goals for the Black Cats which saw them stay up and relegate Newcastle earned Defoe the top prize in the North-East.

After leaving Sunderland when they were relegated Defoe made a free switch to Bournemouth but is now on loan at Rangers where he has netted 18 goals in 27 games.

Jamaal Lascelles – 2017

Lascelles is currently still at Newcastle and captaining the side whenever he is on the pitch.

He signed a new contract earlier this year but with the centre back searching for his first England call up he may be forced to leave if the club is relegated.

Martin Dubravka – 2018

Just like Lascelles, the Slovakian international is still on Tyneside making top-notch saves every week.

Dubravka was linked with a move to Juventus during the summer, however, he has remained at Newcastle and must be a contender for the 2019 award.

Leave a Reply