CricketDurham CCC

Durham Cricket’s 2020 fixture list revealed

Durham players walk onto the pitch during day one of the MCC University match at Edgbaston, Birmingham.

Durham will begin the 2020 season away to Sussex on Easter Sunday in the County Championship.

The club’s first home game will be their clash against Nottinghamshire on April 19th.

Durham’s red ball season will also finish against Notts although with an away fixture this time on Tuesday, September 22nd.

The first six of Durham’s County Championship matches will have at least one of their four days played during the weekend in order to allow more fans to take in first-class cricket.

The T20 season will get underway for Durham with an away clash against derby rivals Yorkshire on May 29th before their opening home fixture against Leicestershire on June 3rd.

All Durham’s matches will be featured on prime Wednesday, Thursday and Friday nights or during the weekend.

James Franklin’s side will play four consecutive T20 Blast fixtures between June 10th and 21st before ending their Blast season at home to Northants Steelbacks unless they qualify for the knockout rounds.

The Royal London Cup will get underway with a warm-up fixture against Lincolnshire in Grantham before taking on Sussex away on July 19th in the first competitive fixture.

Discussing the fixture list James Franklin said: “We are all looking forward to next season.

“We felt that we made some big improvements with a young squad and a lot of home-grown talent last season and we will be looking to take things to the next level in 2020.”

The North East will be home to some of The Hundred action when South Northumberland CC host the women’s fixtures for the Northern Superchargers.

Durham will be without Brydon Carse, Nathan Rimmington and Mark Wood for the entirety of the Royal London Cup as the newly degraded competition will be run alongside The Hundred.

Leave a Reply